Adult Fiction · Adventure · Book Alphabet · Books · Carole's Book Alphabet · Epic Fantasy · Fantasy · Just For Fun · Life · Reviews

Carole’s Book Alphabet ~ ‘S’ is for…

cbaS‘The Sword Of Truth’

I discovered this series through a friend at college and my boyfriend of the time and I were soon as addicted to them as our friend was. It wasn’t unusual to find us in our group’s corner of the common room all with our noses in different novels from the same series (the rest of the time we were either playing cards or Scrabble, because we were cool like that…)

They are not small novels. Every volume of Terry Goodkind’s Sword Of Truth series is an epic fantasy brick. Especially the hardcover versions, of which I have a couple – I bought the last few in the main series when they came out because I couldn’t wait for the paperbacks!

A world of magic, darkness and chaos, Sword of Truth follows the adventures of Richard and Kahlan as they try to discover themselves, each other, the workings of their world and desperately try to stop evil from overcoming all things.

They are not the happiest books in the world – I mean, there are happy bits and there are the themes of friendship, hope and love running throughout but there is lots of fighting, several wars, poverty, deceit, politics, theft, torture (fairly sure somebody gets skinned alive at one point – they’re not gentle stories) and bucketfuls of pain. Despite this, they have something compulsive about them and they are one of my favourite series ever.

They have magic and mystery, swords, bows and arrows, liquid fire, love, friendship, weddings, parties, laugh out loud moments, pure horror – all the things I love in books rolled into one.

They look deep into human nature and investigate our flaws and all the things that redeem us. Richard discovers the ‘Wizard’s Rules’ as the books progress and I think it is these phrases that I have kept from the books, along with the odd other quote that stuck in my head.

A few examples of these are:

‘There is magic in sincere forgiveness. Magic to heal. In forgiveness you grant, and more so in the forgiveness you receive.’

‘Life is the future, not the past.’


‘Passion rules reason.’

‘There have always been those who hate, and there always will be.’

‘Pity for the guilty is treason to the innocent.’

‘Only those you trust can betray you.’


And the one I repeat to myself the most often:

‘Your life is yours alone, rise up and live it.’

The series is not an easy read and, with them all being so huge, you do have to commit yourself to reading them somewhat – it’s a long old journey and it made me cry and laugh multiple times. I remember feeling utterly exhausted at the end of a few of the books from the sheer emotional rollercoaster I had been on whilst reading them.

I know a lot of people who think they are terrible books but they seem to have a bit of a Marmite effect on people – you either love them and can’t get enough, or you think they are twaddle and a waste of tree. I don’t like Marmite, but I do like this series.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear what you think :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.